Worried about Coronavirus? We can meet remotely. DETAILS HERE
   
Free Consultation - Available 24/7 (732) 863-5050

New Jersey's Criminal Defense Attorney

Let us help you prove your innocence.

Traffic Violations Video FAQs

Traffic Violations

I was Charged with Joyriding

As a Mercer County Traffic Violation Attorney I often see clients who were charged with joyriding. Joyriding is taking a car without intending to keep it, or sell it. As a Mercer County Traffic Violation Attorney I will see this happen to juvenile clients taking their parents vehicle without permission.

If you or your child has been arrested and charged with joyriding in a vehicle, watch this video and contact our experienced Mercer County Traffic Violation Attorney.

This short informational video was brought to you by Jason Volet, an experienced New Jersey Traffic Violation Attorney.

The Police Seized My Car without Being Charging with a Crime

As a Middlesex Traffic Violations Attorney I sometimes have clients asking me about the police seizing their car without even being charged with a crime. The first thing I can recommend is to have a discussion with the police and their plans. The police are allowed to seize your vehicle if they feel they have reasonable cause. I have advised clients as a Middlesex Traffic Violations Attorney that probable cause can be used to attain a search warrant if you don’t give consent.

If your vehicle has been seized by the police for an unknown reason, watch this video and contact our experienced Middlesex Traffic Violations Attorney.

This short informational video was brought to you by Jason Volet, an experienced Middlesex County Traffic Violations Attorney.

I was Charged with Speeding, Can You Help Me?

  • There are a number of different points that can be assigned to that speeding; it can be as little as two and upwards of five.
  • Your attorney will try to determine whether or not the radar or the laser has been properly adjusted and tuned.

This informational blog post was provided by Jason A. Volet, an experienced New Jersey Traffic Violation Lawyer.

I Was Stopped By The Police, They Searched My Car and Found Something Illegal, Is it Over for Me?

  • It’s important to understand that the prosecutor is required to prove these charges against you beyond a reasonable doubt.
  • The police have to have done their job correctly by following both the constitution of New Jersey and the constitution of the United States.
  • Did they stop your car for a legitimate reason? Did they have a reason either one, to apply for a search warrant, or to request your consent to search? Can they prove that whatever it was in that car was actually yours?

This informational blog post was provided by Jason A. Volet, an experienced New Jersey Traffic Violation Attorney.

What are the Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License in NJ?

  • The penalties that you are facing for driving while suspended for a DUI are greater than those normal penalties for a driving while suspended.
  • You are facing 10 to 90 days in jail mandatory if you are convicted.
  • If it is your second driving while suspended for your first DUI, that charge is now a criminal indictable offense heard in superior court with a mandatory 180 days in the county jail or in state prison.

This informational blog post was provided by Jason A. Volet, an experienced New Jersey Traffic Violation Lawyer.

What Happens if I was Charged with Leaving a Scene of an Accident?

  • If somebody was killed, it could be an indictable offense.
  • If somebody was injured, the penalties could be rather severe.
  • If you are in an accident, you either need to give your information to the person you’ve had an accident with or to some witness that’s there.
  • If there is nobody there, it’s important that you drive immediately to the police department and let them know that you were involved with this accident so that you don’t pick up this charge.

This informational blog post was provided by Jason A. Volet, an experienced New Jersey Traffic Violation Attorney.

What is Important to Know about Cell Phone Violations in NJ?

  • For a first offense of using that cell phone not hands-free, you are facing a penalty of between two and four hundred dollars.
  • For a second offense, you are facing a penalty between four and six hundred dollars.
  • For a third offense you are facing a penalty of between six and eight hundred dollars.
  • More importantly, you license can be suspended for up to 90 days.
  • It is a three-point ticket if it is your third or more violation.

This informational blog post was provided by Jason A. Volet, an experienced New Jersey Traffic Violation Lawyer.

What Should I Tell The Police if They Want To Search My Home or Vehicle?

  • When a police officer asks to search your car or to search your house, the short answer to them should be ‘no’.
  • It’s their requirement that they have probable cause in order to search whatever it is that they want to search.
  • If it is your vehicle then they have every right to go and get a warrant, and it is your right to have them go and get that warrant.

This informational blog post was provided by Jason A. Volet, an experienced New Jersey Traffic Violation Attorney.

Associations & Awards

  • New York State Bar Association NYSBA logo
  • American Bar Association ABA logo defending liberty persuing justice
  • Criminal Lawyer New Jersey State Bar Association Logo
  • New Jersey Supreme Court Certified Criminal Defense Attorney logo
  • Avvo Rating Superb Top Attorney Criminal Defense NJ
Law Office of Jason A. Volet Criminal Defense Lawyer Logo
Get in Touch Today (732) 863-5050

two Locations to Meet You

Freehold Office
Neptune Office