Drunk Driving Lawyer in New Jersey
Being convicted of driving while intoxicated is more than humiliating. It can have devastating effects on your personal and professional life, resulting in heavy fines, license suspension, community service, and even jail time. Not to mention the fact that you may be ordered to use an ignition interlock device to operate your vehicle again.
Drunk Driving Charges in New Jersey, DWI First Offense
If you have been charged in New Jersey with a DWI, the penalties that you’re facing are significant. For a DWI NJ first offense, we have a two-tier system, so if you are between a .08 and a .10, you are facing monetary fines, twelve hours in the Intoxicated Driver’s Resource Center. You are also facing a three-month loss of license and up to 30 days in the county jail. If you are charged with a first DWI at a .10 or higher or if it’s for being under the influence of drugs, you are facing a 7 to 12-month loss of license, 12 hours in the Intoxicated Driver’s Resource Center, monetary fines, and up to 30 days in the county jail.
Don’t try to confront a DWI charge without a skilled attorney by your side. As a former criminal prosecutor for Monmouth County, Jason A. Volet saw far too many people accused of DWI crimes suffer severe penalties. Now, as a dedicated New Jersey drunk driving attorney, Jason uses his insider perspective of prosecution strategies to craft solid defense arguments on behalf of people accused of DWI crimes.
If you are facing a DWI charge in New Jersey, schedule a free consultation with the Law Office of Jason A. Volet today.
Common Types of DWI Cases We Handle in New Jersey
In New Jersey, a driver with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or greater is considered to be driving while intoxicated. However, there are many reasons why DWI charges may get thrown out or reduced. Our experienced Freehold DWI lawyer will mount a strong defense for drivers who are facing accusations of:
- Alcohol- or drug-related DWI with BAC greater than 0.08 percent but less than 0.10 percent
- Alcohol- or drug-related DWI with BAC of 0.10 percent or greater
- Driving or riding with an open container
- Driving with a DWI suspension
- Driving while possessing drugs
- Refusing a Breathalyzer or other chemical test
- Underage DWI
- DWI in a school zone or school crossing
It is important that you speak with our dedicated Monmouth County DWI attorney as soon as you can. Our legal team in New Jersey will want to begin working on your case right away ─ even before you are charged ─ to fight these accusations at every point in the process. We can even help you with how to check if your license is suspended in NJ.
Schedule a free consultation now to discuss your case.
What Is the Difference Between a DWI and a DUI in New Jersey?
Technically, New Jersey law defines “driving while intoxicated” as driving while under the influence of drugs or with a BAC of 0.08 percent or more. New Jersey does not distinguish between “driving while intoxicated” and “driving under the influence.” Therefore, many people use the terms DWI and DUI interchangeably.