Hit & Run Attorney in New Jersey
When a motor vehicle strikes a person, another automobile, or property and then flees the scene, this is regarded as a “hit and run”. The possible penalties associated with a conviction vary according to the extent of the harm inflicted by the accident, but due to the nature of the crime, it can be difficult for the prosecution to definitively prove a defendant’s involvement. Though an accusation such as this can be deeply troubling, it is important to be aware of your rights.
Hit and Run Charges
If you have been arrested on hit and run charges in Freehold or Neptune New Jersey, contact the New Jersey traffic violation attorneys at the Law Office of Jason A. Volet in Freehold or Neptune by calling 732-863-5050 today.
Penalties for Hit and Run Convictions
For a first-time offender who is involved in a fairly minor incident affecting only a vehicle or property, the possible punishments may include a fine of $200-$400 and a prison term of up to 30 days. For a repeat offender, these are elevated to $400-$600 and 30-90 days, respectively. However, if a collision results in injury or death, the penalties are substantially harsher, and may include:
- Revocation of one’s driver license
- A period of incarceration up to 5 years (if a fatality occurs)
- A period of incarceration up to 180 days (for bodily injury)
- Fines ranging from $2,500-$5,000
Hit and Run Attorney NJ
Do not delay seeking legal counsel if you are facing hit and run charges, especially if you have been convicted of this crime before. Contact the New Jersey hit and run lawyers of the Law Office of Jason A. Volet in Freehold or Neptune, by calling 732-863-5050.