If you’ve been charged with driving while suspended for a DUI, it is important to contact an attorney immediately. The penalties that you are facing for driving while suspended for a DUI are greater than those normal penalties for a driving while suspended. If it is your first offense driving while suspended for a DUI while in New Jersey, you are facing ten to 90 days in jail mandatory if you are convicted, and if you have an accident and somebody is injured – and what I mean by an accident and injured is if you are parked at a light and somebody rear-ends you and they are injured, you will do an additional ten to 90 days in jail.
If it is your second driving while suspended for your first DUI, that charge is now a criminal indictable offense heard in superior court with a mandatory 180 days in the county jail or in state prison; wherever your ultimate sentence is you must serve 180 days before you can be paroled. If it is a second or third DUI and you are caught driving while suspended, it is automatically that same criminal indictable offense where you are facing 180 days mandatory in jail. So if you’ve been charged with this offense in New Jersey, it is important to contact an attorney who understands how to defend against this case immediately.
Certified by the Supreme Court of New Jersey as a criminal trial attorney, Jason A. Volet focuses his practice exclusively on criminal and municipal defense in New Jersey and New York. He earned his B.A. in political science from Rutgers College in 1995 and his J.D. from the Hofstra University School of Law in 1998. Mr. Volet began his career in the Monmouth County Prosecutor’s Office, where he gained extensive experience prosecuting both juvenile and adult offenders. Now, as a criminal defense attorney, he uses that experience to fight for the rights of individuals who have been charged with a crime.