Call Us for a Free Consultation Today (732) 863-5050
Jason Volet Criminal Defense Lawyer nj banner

New Jersey's Criminal Defense Attorney

Let us help you prove your innocence.

Penalties for DWI in New Jersey Underscore Need for Solid Defense


Penalties for DWI in New Jersey Underscore Need for Solid Defense

Many New Jersey motorists are stopped for drinking and driving after having only two beers or glasses of wine at dinner. It is important to remember, as a fact sheet from the State of New Jersey makes clear, even just a few drinks can put you over the legal limit.

If you have been charged with DWI, you could be facing serious penalties if you are convicted. At The Law Office of Jason A. Volet, we know that a DWI charge can change the course of your future in the event of a conviction, and we can help to minimize the impact of a drunk driving charge.

Learning More About the Consequences of a DWI

According to the State of New Jersey fact sheet, a driver may be considered guilty of driving under the influence of alcohol if she or he has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more. This number refers to the percentage of alcohol in your blood rather than the number or type of drinks that you consume. If you are a smaller person, your BAC may reach 0.08 percent more quickly (and with less alcohol consumption) than a larger person.

What are the drunk driving penalties in New Jersey? The website for the State of New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission emphasizes that the consequences of a DWI are very serious, and they can include the following:

  • Monetary fines and fees
  • Suspension of your driver’s license
  • Required use of an ignition interlock device
  • Community service
  • Jail time

Drunk Driving Penalties for First and Subsequent Offenses

More specifically, the fact sheet explains that, under New Jersey’s current law (Chapter 314 of P.L. 2003), drunk driving penalties may vary depending on whether it is your first offense or a subsequent offense. For a first offense, drivers in New Jersey with a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher but under 0.10 percent can be subject to the following:

  • Fine of $250 to $400
  • Imprisonment for up to 30 days
  • Suspension of your driver’s license for three months
  • Required time in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Auto insurance surcharges

These penalties increase for first offenses in which the driver has a BAC of 0.10 percent or greater:

  • Fine of $300 to $500
  • Loss of license for seven months to one year

For a second offense, drunk driving penalties can include:

  • Fine of $500 to $1,000
  • Imprisonment for up to 90 days (and imprisonment of at least 48 consecutive hours)
  • Suspension of your driver’s license for two years
  • Required time in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Auto insurance surcharges
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for anywhere from one to three years after your driver’s license is restored

Drunk driving penalties for third offenses can include:

  • Fine of $1,000 and other fees
  • Imprisonment for 180 days
  • Suspension of your driver’s license for 10 years
  • Required in-patient alcohol treatment
  • Auto insurance surcharges
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for anywhere from one to three years after your driver’s license is restored

In short, if you are convicted of drinking and driving, you can face severe monetary penalties in addition to penalties that take away certain liberties and privileges. An aggressive DWI defense lawyer can help to ensure that you persent a solid defense to these charges.

Contact a DWI Defense Lawyer in New Jersey

An experienced New Jersey DWI defense lawyer can discuss your options with you if you have been charged with drunk driving. It is important to have a dedicated advocate on your side who can prepare defense to your DWI charge and can help to minimize the impact of the offense. Contact the Law Office of Jason A. Volet today to learn more about our services.

  • Share this on Google+
  • Share this on Linkedin
  • Show more share options

Associations & Awards

  • New York State Bar Association NYSBA logo
  • American Bar Association ABA logo defending liberty persuing justice
  • Criminal Lawyer New Jersey State Bar Association Logo
  • New Jersey Supreme Court Certified Criminal Defense Attorney logo
  • Avvo Rating Superb Top Attorney Criminal Defense NJ
Law Office of Jason A. Volet Criminal Defense Lawyer Logo
Get in Touch Today (732) 863-5050

two Locations to Meet You

Freehold Office
Neptune Office
Simple Share Buttons