If this is your third or more DWI, the penalties that you face in New Jersey are as significant as they possibly could be for a motor vehicle ticket. You are facing a mandatory ten years loss of license, you are facing mandatory high fines, and you are also facing a mandatory 180 days in the county jail, and again, that would be whatever county in New Jersey you were stopped in, so if it’s Monmouth County, you would serve that in Monmouth County, if it was in Mercer, you would serve it in Mercer and so on. The only thing that you are allowed on those 180 days is that you have the ability to serve 90 of those days at an in-patient rehabilitation center that is authorized by the Intoxicated Driver’s Resource Center. However, once those 90 days are up, you do have to serve those 90 days in the county jail. There is no early release, there is no parole, there are no nights, there are no weekends; it is 90 days straight time. So it is extremely important that if you are charged with a third or more DUI – again, whether it be for alcohol or for drugs – is that you find an attorney who is experienced in handling these types of matters.
Certified by the Supreme Court of New Jersey as a criminal trial attorney, Jason A. Volet focuses his practice exclusively on criminal and municipal defense in New Jersey and New York. He earned his B.A. in political science from Rutgers College in 1995 and his J.D. from the Hofstra University School of Law in 1998. Mr. Volet began his career in the Monmouth County Prosecutor’s Office, where he gained extensive experience prosecuting both juvenile and adult offenders. Now, as a criminal defense attorney, he uses that experience to fight for the rights of individuals who have been charged with a crime.